Magnesium: the missing link in reducing Physical and Psychological stress?

19 Dec

Let’s get back to basics. I am a big believer in treating the cause of a problem rather than the symptoms. So I do not take paracetamol, cold and flu tablets or antihistamines. Instead, I would rather understand why I am having the symptoms and see if I can change my behaviour to rectify the problem.

A few years ago I was having lots of trouble with muscle spasms, I couldn’t sleep but I was always tired. At the same time I was exercising at least three hours a day for my upcoming triathlon, working a full time and a part time job and in the midst of one of my many attempts at vegetarianism. At the time I thought I was being extremely healthy. Obviously looking back there were a few problems glaring me straight in the face but that’s a story for another time 🙂

When I started doing a little research I began to hear more and more about Magnesium. Magnesium is a mineral responsible for such things as bone formation, nerve and muscle relaxation, the metabolism of proteins, carbohydrates and fats etc. And yet so many of us are deficient in this basic mineral. So here are a few things I have learnt about Magnesium to date:

Symptoms/Conditions associated with magnesium deficiency:

  • anxiety
  • depression
  • muscle weakness
  • fatigue
  • eye twitches
  • PMS
  • insomnia
  • apathy
  • apprehension
  • poor memory
  • confusion
  • anger
  • nervousness
So, with that in mind, I have put together a list of some great Paleo friendly foods that are high in Magnesium. 
Kelp
Pumpkin Seeds
Almonds
Spinach
Brazil nuts
Pecan
English walnuts
Coconut meat, dried
Dates
Collard greens
Shrimp
Avocado
Parsley
Prunes, dried
Garlic
Raisins
Crab
Banana
Sweet potato
Blackberry
Beets
Broccoli
Cauliflower
Carrot
Celery
Beef
Asparagus
Chicken
Green pepper
Winter squash
Cantaloupe
Eggplant
Tomato
Milk
Now of course it’s not just eating these foods that will help. There are issue with Magnesium absorption as well as the the way that these foods are cooked that will affect the amount of magnesium you are receiving. As I learn more I will continue to post the info.

Additional Links

http://www.nutritionalmagnesium.org/

http://nutritionalmagnesium.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=290%3Aa-look-inside-the-cell-by-andrea-rosanoff&catid=91%3A

http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=nutrient&dbid=75 (lots of food ideas here)

As always, I must note that I am not a medical professional, so the thoughts and ideas referenced above are collections of information I have gathered. Readers should not use this information for self-diagnosis or self-treatment, but should always consult a medical professional regarding any medical problems and before undertaking any major dietary changes. This information is not meant to be substituted for medical advice.

 

Leave a Reply

