The Paleo Pizza Experiment

29 Dec

Inspired by my holiday reading, I have been busting to make some Paleo Pizza. The idea that one of my favourite foods is still possible made me feel very happy inside. So, I hada  few friends over for dinner and we decided to try it out. My crust recipe came straight from the Everyday Paleo website: http://everydaypaleo.com/2010/08/04/everyday-paleo-pizza/.

For topping I used:

  • Tomato paste
  • Baby spinach
  • Olives
  • Mushrooms
  • Red Onion
  • Sundried Tomato
  • Chicken

Method:

After cooking the crust for 20 minutes I just added the ingredients and left in the oven for another 15 minutes. See my photo for the result.

Feedback:

So I have to say that although this base was absolutely lovely it was really not suited to Pizza eating in a traditional sesnse. It  was a very heavy biscuit like mixture and after one piece of Pizza I felt really full. Feedback from my friends was that it tasted like a “pizza on a biscuit”. “Definitely worth trying but very intense.”

I think I might try this recipe again but not as a Pizza. Possibly as a base for a nice dessert.

 

Leave a Reply

